Posted by: denise beverly db visual arts | January 15, 2011

2011 Off to a busy start

Here I am two weeks into January 2011 making my first blog post of the year. Several projects have had my attention lately including getting packets together for the Golden Globes and The Sundance Film Festival. The first of those being given out by The Indie Exhibit earlier today. I chose to do small art prints and matching buttons for the Golden Globes and for Sundance packaged up art cards exclusively. Also for Sundance, I provided a mounted print of Stormy Morning Tree for a display at the tent.

Packets for the Golden Globes and Sundance

After those were taken care of, the deadline for the next project was on the horizon. That being a sketchbook for the 2011 Sketchbook Project, my theme is “if you lived here” and I am filling it with postcards I have designed and sell in my little gallery spot downtown at Treasures in Time Antiques and Collectibles. Hopefully it will give a good picture of the Bristol Virginia, Tennessee area and help share the beauty and cultural history we have here. Thankfully the deadline was extended a few days and I am much happier with what I will be submitting. These sketchbooks will become part of a traveling exhibit with the Brooklyn Art Library and then become part of their permanent inventory. I will be able to link to it when all the cataloging is completed. I am excited about this opportunity, it is something very unique and not something I would ever have dreamed of, having a handcrafted book in a Brooklyn NY library.

Well off to work on said sketchbook so that it will be ready to ship on Tuesday. Updates to follow on these and many more projects in the works. Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

Categories

